bigplatelittlewaist

November 15, 2010

Its ok to be BAD

Filed under: Uncategorized — saturner @ 2:14 pm

I apologize for not posting the past few days! Been very busy with the “actual” job that makes me money as well as the kids!! Very busy weekend..not a whole lot of healthy food but that happens sometimes and that is ok…no matter what people try to tell you. However when I do have a weekend filled with too much wine, too much cheese and other delicious fats I try to be “extra good” on Monday so I try and cram as much nutrients and fiber into each meal. HOWEVER …on the weekends I do eat too much I seem to be the most hungry that whole Monday probably from the lack of nutrients and fiber. So today for lunch I have made a HUGE salad and I am guaranteed to be full until dinner. I call it the Succulent Savory Salad. Here is how it goes!!

Succulent Savory Salad

2 cups spring mix

1/2 cup fresh baby spinach

10 green olives

1 large roasted pepper diced

3 artichoke hearts diced

2 tablespoons red onion

1/2 cup cooked kidney beans(rinse and drain from can)

1/2 cup shelled cooked edamame beans

1/4 chopped broccoli

2 tsp slivered almonds

1 tsp grated parmesean cheese

juice of 1/2 lemon

1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil

salt and pepper to taste

Put all together in a large bowl minus the lemon and olive oil

stir together the lemon and olive oil and drizzle over the salad.  Combine gently!

This is actually more than enough for 2 people however when I am STARVING I usually eat the whole thing myself!!

Enjoy!

Love, health and great food

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

