bigplatelittlewaist

November 9, 2010

Loving the Soup!

Filed under: Uncategorized — saturner @ 4:31 pm

Hello Food lovers

Well I’m into my fourth post and as many people have told me that are in the “blogging world” it does get a little difficult thinking of topics to discuss each day and especially interesting ones. I feel like I am starting to get the hang of it but I’m told that going onto other blogs and websites can only add to more ideas. On one hand the focus of my blog is a very niche topic but on the other hand I can talk about food all day every day and I know many people feel the same way…as I ponder on this for future blogs I want to go to one of my favorite foods which is soup. My kids are yelling at me because now that the cold weather is starting I have been making soup at least once a week which for my husband and myself is fabulous but the kids would like a little more “chewable” items on their plate. This is one of the challenges I gave to myself. And again this is where my beans and grains come into great play for the soup season. I rich, hearty, thick delectable soup is great for many food palates and very filling as well. I would like to share my Spicy Black Bean and Bulgar Soup with you for today!! Please try it and let me know what you think!!!

Spicy Black Bean & Bulgar Soup

3 cans black beans rinsed and drained

1 Small red onion chopped finely

1 Red Pepper chopped

1/2 cup bulgar wheat

1 small jalapeno pepper

2 beef boullion cubes

1 tsp cumin

1 tsp garlic powder

1 tbl hot sauce (Franks or Siraccha is great)

6 cups water

1/4 cup olive oil

salt and pepper to taste

1/4 cup plain greek yogurt

1 diced avocado

Directions

In a stockpot heat olive oil and add onion an peppers. Stir until softened and then add 1 can of the beans. Heat through and add 1 cup of the water. Once this comes to a boil use the emersion blender or simply a potato masher and mix. This will be a thickening agent for the rest of the soup. Add the rest of the ingredients except for the yogurt and avocado and simmer for about 1 hour. Soup should have a nice thick consistency and texture with the beans and cooked bulgar. If the soup is too thick add a little more water at a time until it reaches the consistency you are looking for. Place into a bowl with a dollop of greek yogurt and some avocado!  Enjoy!

Talk to you tomorrow

Love, health and great food!

Sharon

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

