bigplatelittlewaist

November 7, 2010

Remember the “Deal A Meal”!!!

Filed under: Uncategorized — saturner @ 3:54 pm

Hello Food Lovers!

Last night I was thinking about what made me start this food revelation of mine. Besides sheer hunger of course! As many people do I tried many different diets over the years. Low carb, no carb, etc and then about 15 years ago I discovered none other than the hilarious Richard Simmons and his “Deal A Meal” plan. The way this diet worked was by using actual food cards in a wallet. There were protein cards, vegetable cards, fat cards, carbohydrate cards and even free cards (mostly condiments and lettuce and celery!). On each card there was a list of those items and what each card was worth. an example of one protein card would be 1 oz of chicken. So if you wanted a meal of a 3 oz piece of chicken you would use 3 protein cards. Unfortunately that would be all but one card I would get for the day!! Each day you received an exact amount of each particular card and you had to use them all by the end of the day. I began doing this and it actually worked. But how did my theory of lots of food and little calories help me here?? I ended up eating tons  of beans and grains! Usually by the end of the day I had enough cards to have a HUGE plate of something like rice and beans. In fact, usually too much for me to finish. So the best part was that a little cheese and cracker before bed was my little treat to myself. The main point here was that I was actually full and still losing weight. Thank you Richard Simmons and by the way, I think you should bring back the “Deal A Meal”!! Beautiful concept!!! Here is my recipe of the  day:

Crunchy Vegetable and Bean Bowl

1 Can white beans rinsed and drained

1 Can black beans rinsed and drained

2 -3 Pepperoncini peppers diced

1/2 red pepper diced

1 celery stalk dices

1 small red onion diced

2 tablespoons Kalamata olives chopped

1/2 cup cooked barley

2 tablespoons chopped fresh basil

juice of 1 lemon

1 tablespoon red wine vinegar

2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil

salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

Very easy! Combine all ingredients and stir. To achieve best taste let sit about 20-30 minutes before eating.

Enjoy!

Till next time…love, health and lots of food!

Sharon

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

